top of page
Search

All Because of a Question


Over the course of the past few weeks, I have had the opportunity to read Warren Berger’s (2014) A More Beautiful Question. Throughout the book, he brings up different inventions and concepts that came to life all because someone had a question. These questions have led to the development of the Red Cross, Liquid Paper, microwaves, Netflix, and Gatorade to name a few. Never did I think that a question that I had could lead to anything.


My Wicked Problem that I have been pondering for the past few weeks is how we can offer eBooks to students in a more cost-effective manner so that students have access to books that will spark their interests and encourage reading. EBooks are more expensive than hard copies of books, making it difficult to get them into the hands of kids. As more and more schools are reverting to remote learning it is more important than ever for kids to have access to books that they want to read and find intriguing.


When dealing with my Wicked Problem this week, I created a survey to gather some additional insight from teachers using the eBook platform, Sora. I have noticed that the majority of the titles I have on the platform are checked out and there are a high number of holds on titles.





I came up with a list of questions that I had about my problem that I wanted answers to.



After reading through Market Research Guy’s (2020) Survey Design Best Practices, I went back and iterated my questions.



I wanted to see if teachers and students were experiencing the same thing. Since I have a hard time getting kids to answer my surveys when they are in school, I choose to have teachers answer based on their observations. I broke up my survey into four sections to help focus the participants’ responses. I made sure to include the option of “N/A” and created a more personalized “Thank You” for confirmation the survey has been submitted suggested by Market Research Guy.



I sent my survey to my school PLN, and cannot wait to see the responses I get to my questions.


References:

Berger, W. (2014). A more beautiful question: The power of inquiry to spark breakthrough ideas. Bloomsbury Publishing USA.


Bridges, M. (2020). Sora summary. [Image]. Screenshot.


Bridges, M. (2020). WPP questions. [Image]. Screenshot.


Bridges, M. (2020). WPP iterated questions. [Image]. Screenshot.


Bridges, M. (2020). Survey confirmation. [Image]. Screenshot.


Market Research Guy. (2020, July 7). Survey design best practices: How to write a good questionnaire. My Market Research Methods. http://www.mymarketresearchmethods.com/survey-design-best-practices/.


Thomas-Rodgers, D. (2019). Ask more questions mark. [Gif]. Giphy. https://gph.is/g/EJl51Lo.

12 views0 comments
bottom of page